Stuck…

As of next week I’m going to be putting up regular (ish – I’m as reliable as German beanspots) posts of the tunes I’ve heard at the weekend and had stuck in my head all week. I reckon it’s worth documenting them; when I’m at work I have to listen to the radio and get subjected to all sorts of formulaic, buy-me-now bullshit, so the tunes with merit which just won’t move out of my head deserve a mention, I think.

I’m gonna start with a few that I had this month; I’ll try to keep it brief…

Wyles & Simpson – Can’t Switch Off

“it’s beginning to send me a little loopy”

I’ve heard the ladies (yes that does include you Blain) play this mesmerising number a few times now; always sticks with me for ages, so I end up with a 6 hour rendition of it in my head… this is A Good Thing.

Dead Dred – Dred Bass (Origin Unkonwn Remix)

“what the time you have there, dred?”

I could go on about this all day… probably have done a few times. Origin Unknown were the kings of jungle for me, elevating it to an art form when so many others were just throwing shit together and seeing what happens. This production in this remix is NUTS; the double-layered Amen break, the staccato chops, the progression that keeps everything rolling; this tune’s got it all. If you want to know why I love Jungle, check this.

Massive Attack – Teardrop

“love is a verb; love is a doing word”

Nothing I could say could do justice to this.

 

About dannydrivethru

Turnablist, Beatmaker, Producer, Nerd... If you give me tracks here: http://soundcloud.com/drivethru/dropbox if I like them I'll put them here: http://www.mixcloud.com/dannydrivethru/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuck…

  1. The chops (in every sense of the word) on that Dred Dred tune..!

Leave a Reply

